The South African Chamber of Commerce UK (SACC UK) hosted a successful Awards Evening on 14 March to recognise the outstanding efforts of South Africans who were finalists and winners in the organisation’s annual awards ceremony held in London. The evening, brimming with South African pride, brought together over 60 attendees, including award winners/finalists, esteemed members, and special guests. Notably present were three Chamber directors, six members of the Executive Committee (ExCo), and Sharon Constançon, Chairman. Master of Ceremonies Kim Jansen expertly guided the evening’s programme with her signature professionalism and enthusiasm while Sharon delivered a heartfelt and inspiring welcome, reminding us of why all were present and why we should continue striving towards strengthening business relations.

Opening Remarks and Inspiring Keynote Address

Ayanda Ntsaluaba, Discovery Executive Director, delivered a warm welcome and opening address while hosting the event in the magnificent Discovery building.Sean Godoy, Gauteng Chapter Lead, followed with insightful remarks. Wessel Badenhorst, Partner at Hogan Lovells and Director of the Chamber, delivered a captivating keynote address. Hogan Lovells was a key sponsor of the Awards.

Celebrating Achievement: Award Presentations

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of awards to the deserving winners and finalists in attendance.

Business Leader Award (Sponsored by Barclays)

Bayne Dollie and Refileo Mohale proudly received a finalist’s certificate on behalf of Martin Sweet from Primestars. The award was presented by Moses Tembe, Director of SACC UK.

Young Business Leader Award (Sponsored by Investec)

Tebogo Poopedi (Mr TAP) from Skills Village Radio received his finalist certificate from Sean Godoy.

DE&I Award (Sponsored by Valufin)

Joint winners Dr Arthie Moore-Robberts (Celebrating Humanity International) and Arlene Wilson-Max (Pan African Exchange) were presented with their awards by Rajen Pillay, member of the ExCo.

ESG Leader Award

Songo Didiza (Green Building Design) and Ilana Friedman (Magical Moments) were recognised as finalists and received their certificates from ExCo member, David White.

Innovator of the Year

Joy Campkin Smith represented Dr Dean Allen (Speaker & Historian), a finalist, who received his certificate from ExCo member, Michael Judin.

Business Woman of the Year Award (Sponsored by Genius Boards)

Koni Maliehe (Koni Wines) and Carrol Masevhe (Kapcor Construction) were the proud joint winners, receiving their awards from Sharon Constancon, Chairman of SACC UK.

Chairman’s Award (Sponsored by Hogan Lovells)

Refiliwe Butheleizei (Engineering Council of South Africa) was a joint winner of this prestigious award, presented by Wessel Badenhorst.

A Night of Connection

Following the awards ceremony, guests enjoyed a vibrant networking session, fostering connections and celebrating South African business excellence.

The SACC UK extends its heartfelt congratulations to all the winners and finalists.

Previous articleFebruary 2024 Newsletter
Next articleChampion Inclusion on International Women’s Day